Samoa Map

The Samoa Islands are actually made up of 2 political jurisdictions as you can see on the map. They are called Samoa (or Western Samoa) and American Samoa (or Eastern Samoa, a territory of the US). This whole group of islands consist of mainly small islands but for the 2 large islands in Samoa, Savai'i and Upolu. The larger islands are volcanic, mountainous and covered in lush rainforests.

All 250,000 Samoans use the same language and culture (fa'asamoa), and were known as the Navigators Islands before the twentieth century because of their excellent boating skills.

Samoa and the Pacific islands